HSSO 4: From the New World, The Hills Grammar School, Saturday, 07. December 2019

COPLAND Fanfare for the Common Man
SMETANA Die Moldau from "Ma Vlast"
DVORAK Symphony No. 9 in E Minor, "From the New World"

CHRIS UPTON conductor

The Hills Shire Symphony Orchestra proudly presents its final concert of the year, From the New World.
The concert opens with the iconic Fanfare for the Common Man, written by Aaron Copland. Perhaps better known by many for the rendition by Emerson, Lake & Palmer, this fanfare is short but extremely bold and striking. The first half concludes with Die Moldau from Bedrich Smetana's Ma Vlast. This symphonic poem is an astonishing musical depiction of the river Vlatava in Prague, through its beautiful tone painting and soaring melodies.
Perhaps Antonin Dvorak's most memorable work concludes the program. His Symphony No. 9 in E Minor "From the New World" is the result of the composers' visit to the North American continent, and the existence of American folk melodies within the work has been hotly debated. Regardless, it is a stunning combination of 'new' influences and 'old' and classic Dvorak sounds. 

Tickets for this concert are $30 for adults and $15 for concession
The concert should conclude at approximately 9:00 pm. 

Saturday, 07. December 2019, The Hills Grammar School, HSSO 4: From the New World

Find more interesting events
Get event recommendations based on your Facebook taste. Get it now!Show me the suitable events for meNot now